Corporate History

1876	Mitsui Bank is established.
1893	Mitsui Bank reorganizes itself as an unlimited partnership.
1895	Sumitomo Bank is established.
1909	Mitsui Bank reorganizes into a limited company.
1912	Sumitomo Bank reorganizes into a limited company.
1936	The seven major banks of Hyogo Prefecture are merged into Kobe Bank.
1940	Dai Nihon Mujin is established.
1943	Mitsui Bank merges with Dai-Ichi Bank to form Teikoku Bank.
1944	Teikoku Bank merges with Jugo Bank.
1945	Sumitomo Bank merges with Hannan and Ikeda Jitsugyo Banks.Kobe Bank begins trust business.
1948	 Dai Nihon Mujin is renamed Nihon Mujin. Teikoku Bank splits off Dai-Ichi Bank. Sumitomo Bank is renamed Osaka Bank.
1949	Teikoku Bank's shares are listed on the Tokyo and Osaka stock exchanges.Osaka Bank's shares are listed on the Tokyo and Osaka stock exchanges.
1951	Nihon Mujin is renamed Nihon Sogo Bank.
1952	Osaka Bank's name is restored to Sumitomo Bank.
1954	Teikoku Bank's name is restored to Mitsui Bank.
1960	Kobe Bank's trust division is transferred to Toyo Trust and Banking.
1965	Sumitomo Bank merges with Kawachi Bank.
1968	Mitsui Bank merges with Toto Bank.Nihon Sogo Bank converts to an ordinary bank and is renamed Taiyo Bank.
1973	Kobe Bank and Taiyo Bank merge to form Taiyo Kobe Bank.
1986	Sumitomo Bank merges with Heiwa Sogo Bank.
1990	Mitsui Bank and Taiyo Kobe Bank merge to form Mitsui Taiyo Kobe Bank.
1992	Mitsui Taiyo Kobe Bank is renamed Sakura Bank.
1999	 Sakura Bank and Sumitomo Bank develop a strategic alliance leading to future integration of the two banks.
2001	Sakura Bank and Sumitomo Bank merge to form Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation.