board of directors

As of June 30, 2000

Chairman of the Board toshio morikawa

President and Chief Executive Officer yoshifumi nishikawa*

Deputy Presidents
youhei shiraga*
akio asuke*

Senior Managing Directors shunichi okuyama* tatsuo kubota* michiyoshi kuriyama* takeharu nagata*

Managing Directors
tadashi inoue*
masayuki oku*
takayuki tsukuda*
ryuzo kodama*
kenjiro noda*
tadashi hirota*
mutsuhiko matsumoto*

Independent Directors tetsuro kawakami toshiomi uragami yoshiaki yamauchi

* Executive Officer

corporate auditors

Standing Corporate Auditors hiroshi sakuma nagayuki yoshida toyosaburo hirano

Independent Corporate Auditors katsuya onishi josei itoh

executive officers

koji ishida koichi tsukihara masahide hirasawa keumaru ogura kiyoshi shibuya shinpei nihei yasuyuki kimoto kenjiro nakano hiroshi nishikawa yasufumi kitamoto koichi maeda shigenobu aikyo shuntaro higashi yasuo ichikawa shiro kawajiri akira kurose kengo miyauchi hiroaki shukuzawa akira matsumoto

The Sumitomo Bank, Limited, implemented a modification of the Bank's governance structure, effective June 29, 1999. This modification was introduced in order to strengthen the function of the Board of Directors ("Board") as an organ that oversees the execution of business from the perspective of the shareholders' interests and to reinforce corporate governance. Key aspects of the new structure are:

- a reduction in the number of directors to enhance the Board's effectiveness,
- an increase in the number of independent directors from two to three, and
- formation of a risk management committee, a compensation committee and a nominating committee within the Board.

In addition, Executive Officers with a tenure of two years have been appointed by the Board to take responsibility for executing the Bank's business. Under the new structure, the Management Committee consists of Executive Officers appointed by the Bank's Chief Executive Officer.